Motivational Mondays: we should stop putting age limits on our Goals

Hi friends! Happy Monday and new week to you!

https://www.facebook.com/idriselba/videos/10153812692958692/

The link above is video shared my Idris Elba. He asks people the question, “what do you want to be when you grow up?” of course, many laughed and states that they were grown up, however when do you stop growing? 🤔
We all have had dreams or goals we want to do, but we reach a point where we just put that dream on the back burner. Is it because it didn’t happen by the age we wanted it to? Did “life” happen? I’ll be first to admit that when I was younger, I wanted to become a wife, mother and Psychologist. Professionally, I want to obtain my doctorate degree and I wanted to open a family center to help all people. I feel like once I was diagnosed with MS that was a curve ball that wasn’t expected. I began to concentrate on other things that were more important, family. Steve and I got married and we eventually became parents. So, I’ve achieved two things, but I still haven’t accomplished the final piece. Once I stopped putting age limits on stuff my mind changed. Once I said I don’t know if it will happen, now it’s I WILL get my cherry on top, God willing. 
We also have this attitude that if we don’t do certain things by certain ages, we either failed or will never accomplish them. I feel a lot of television and fairy tales are the cause for this. We have this thought that by this age, I should finish school, I should be in my dream career by that time, this age, I should get married or at least fall in love, I should have kids by this time in life, I should own a home/condo at this point. We place pressure on ourselves and it hurts when these things aren’t fulfilled. 

Imagine if we as a people could just live. Imagine as we are growing and evolving, we can say I’m ready to take the leap. Instead of family and society filling our heads with time limits, we take our time and just worry about ourselves and our creations. This can be us friends, we need to make that choice. 

What are your thoughts? Thanks so much for reading!
Nicole Cherise

4 thoughts on “Motivational Mondays: we should stop putting age limits on our Goals

  1. Omg I just wrote my birthday post about this! ! We are always in sync. I totally agree that we get pigeonholed by age! It’s never too late to grow up or into who we are fully capable of being.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This topic seems to apply to all generations and will continue to be a discussion in the future. For me, I was taught to take things day by day so I tend to live my life on my own beat despite what others may consider the “right” timeline. While setting goals with a specific timeline is useful for some, I feel that everything happens for a reason and when the time is right. There is no need to stress about what God has already planned for you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment